Kellie Northwood tops the ProPrint Power 50 after tough year

Kellie Northwood, CEO of The Real Media Collective has won the 2020 ProPrint Power 50, nudging IVE Group executive chairman Geoff Selig for the top spot.

Northwood took out the top gong at a COVID-Safe physical and virtual hybrid event held last night at Sydney’s Shangri-la Hotel. Eighty guests were able to physically attend with many others tuning in to watch the presentation virtually from around the country.

All smiles: Kellie Northwood accepts her award

The event also marked the 10th anniversary of the Power 50 and was again supported by gold sponsor Konica Minolta with HP and printIQ silver and bronze sponsors respectively.

Selig has won the Power 50 for the last three years running with Northwood narrowly missing out having come second in 2019 and third in 2018.

But last night was her night and she couldn’t have been more thrilled, especially seeing as she was only recently allowed to fly to Sydney from Melbourne with travel restrictions easing.

Konica Minolta managing director Yohei Konaka and general manager industrial print Sue Threlfo with Kellie Northwood in the centre

Northwood’s win caps a year that has brought unforeseen daily challenges on the industry. Through all of the confusion and uncertainty over regulations, rules and how to be COVID-Safe, Northwood and her team ensured a steady flow of information was provided to members to keep them updated on the latest.

IVE Group CEO Matt Aitken finished in third spot with Lachlan Finch, a co-director at Rawson Print Co., taking fourth.

Brother and sister duo, Debbie Burgess and John Bright of Bright Print Group, finished in fifth position.

Taylor’d Press creative print director and Victoria’s Women in Print Patron, Kirsten Taylor, finished in sixth spot, while the directors of Carbon8, Kenneth Beck and Peter Musarra seventh.

Eighth spot when to mental health and suicide prevention advocate, the founder of Man Anchor, Steven Gamble. Steven is also the national sales manager at Bottcher Australia, but divides his time between both pursuits.

His mental health programmes have been conducted across the printing industry at IVE Group, Ovato and Visual Connections to name a few. He has also reached a broader base with this awareness programs as well.

Cliff Brigstocke, CEO of production and distribution at IVE Group, finished in ninth spot.

Keith Ferrel, the general manager operations at wide format specialist, Cactus Imaging finished in 10th.

The December issue of ProPrint is on its way now, so you can learn more about the full list of winners as well as Emerging 50 nominees for 2020 and the winner of the inaugural Emerging 50 Mentorship Prize.

Members of the ProPrint Power 50 Top Ten for 2020 at the Shangri-la Hotel. Back row (L-R) Geoff Selig, IVE Group; Keith Ferrel, Cactus Imaging; Kirsten Taylor, Taylor’d Press; Lachlan Finch, Rawson Print Co.; Matt Aitken, IVE Group; Peter Musarra, Carbon8. Front row (L-R) Kenneth Beck, Carbon8; Sue Threlfo, Konica Minolta; Cliff Brigstocke, IVE Group; Kellie Northwood, The Real Media Collective; Yohei Konaka, Konica Minolta; Steven Gamble, Man Anchor; Debbie Burgess, Bright Print Group

But here is a sneak peak of the PKF Australia audited list of who made the 2020 list:

1 Northwood, Kellie, The Real Media Collective
2 Selig, Geoff, IVE Group
3 Aitken, Matt, IVE Group
4 Finch, Lachlan, Rawson Print Co.
5 Burgess, Debbie  & Bright, John, Bright Print Group
6 Taylor, Kirsten, Taylor’d Press
7 Beck, Kenneth & Musarra, Peter, Carbon8
8 Gamble, Steven, Man Anchor
9 Brigstocke, Cliff, IVE Group
10 Ferrel, Keith, Cactus Imaging
11 Peter Harper, Visual Connections
12 Rod Dawson, Southern Impact
13 Trent Nankervis, CMYKhub
14 Mel Ireland, Lithographic Institute of Australia
15 Peter Orel, Finsbury Green
16 Shane Britten, IVE Group
17 Kevin Slaven, Ovato
18 Andrew Macaulay, PVCA
19 Darren Delaney, Allkotes
20 Hone, Tate & Hone, Trevor, Avon Graphics
21 Eckersley, Tom, Eckersley Print Group
22 Duarte, Sandra, Centrum Printing
23 Nankervis, Dayne, CMYKhub
24 Gittus, Stuart, Active Display Group
25 Kirwan, Roger, Foxcil
26 Kavnat, Russell, Dashing
27 Burcheri, Aldo, Courtney Colour
28 Eastaugh, Wayne, Marvel Bookbinding
29 Celarc, Richard, Opus Group
29 Finkelde, Wayne, AAB Holdings
31 Coulson, Alex, Hero Print
32 Kuhn, Walter, PVCA
33 Carmody, Simon, Spot Productions
33 Sanuri, Romeo, Next Printing
35 Price, Andrew, Rawson Print Co.
36 Georgantzakos, John, Spotpress
37 Berry, Jenny, Ai Group
38 Donaldson, Ewen, Vivad
39 Meyer, Darryl, IVE Group
40 Mulligan, Mitchell, Visual Connections
41 Allen, Gavin, Crystal Media
42 Spicer, Nigel, Cactus Imaging
43 Buhagiar, Emmanuel, Imagination Graphics
44 Xuereb, Jamie & Jason, Mediapoint
45 Moio, Leo, Print Media Group
46 Hooke, Marcus, News Corp
47 Soutar, Robert, Adams Print
48 Pugh, Simon, QLM Label Makers
49 O’Brien, John, CCL
50 Mark Shergill, Focus Print Group



Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at  

Sign up to the Sprinter newsletter

2 thoughts on “Kellie Northwood tops the ProPrint Power 50 after tough year

  1. Congrats to all the Power50 winners and thanks to Konica Minolta for their support of the industry yet another year

  2. Congratulations to All the Power 50 winners and a Special comment re Kellie Northwood – No 1
    Well deserved and supplying the Industry what it needs is exactly what both Kellie and her Organisation does.
    Brilliant and Very Well deserved!!????

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.