SGIAA becomes Fespa Australia

The Specialty Graphic Imaging Association of Australia (SGIAA) has changed its name to Fespa Australia, with a majority of members voting in favour of the name.

With the name change comes an awareness of the organisation’s ties to Fespa, the global federation of 37 national associations which specialise in the screen, digital, and textile printing segments.

Federal president Nigel Davies, who was unchallenged at the AGM, explains, “The Fespa name is well known in Australia for the trade shows it has been holding for over 20 years. The shows are known for being places where new technology is released, with all the big brands attending.

“The new name helps people understand who we are as an association, and what we stand for.

“What is most important is that we are part of a federation of 37 national associations, who have members with the same challenges that our members face in Australia.

“Our goal is to learn more from those associations at the grassroots level, so we have a better chance to solve the challenges that we face as an industry.”

The meeting saw a new board elected with two new members joining the board and one leaving. David Asker of ImageBox joins the board as Vice President. David is a pioneer of the wide-format industry in Australia, co-founding ImageBox in 1988.

Donovan Sendall of Rawtech Solutions joins the board as Supplier Director. Donovan, alongside Pamela Mannell of T-1 Print captured the attention of the apparel printing community with their 'Make Screen Printing Great Again' events.

Leaving the board is outgoing Supplier Director Martin Stacher of Kissel + Wolf who is returning to Europe to take up a head office role with his company.

Davies says, "I thank the outgoing board for their tireless work over the past term which has delivered new initiatives such as the SGIA Colour Management Bootcamp and ASGA/SGIAA Awards. The strength of our board lies in its deep and balanced representation of the main sectors of our membership, and I am excited at what we will achieve over the next two years."

The incoming board is made up of:

President: Nigel Davies – VMG Print Group

Vice President: David Asker ImageBox

Group Secretary: Keith Ferrel – Cactus Imaging

Treasurer: Mark Brooks – Ancyn Screenprinters

Public Relations Officer: Ben Isdale – Super Special

Supplier Director: Donovan Sendall – Rawtech Solutions.


Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at [email protected]  

Sign up to the Sprinter newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.