Taylor’d Press dominates NPAs with UP banking campaign

An impressive bespoke print campaign for community bank, Up Banking, has largely contributed to Melbourne print house Taylor’d Press winning five gold medals, being named the Offset Printer of the Year and winning the Judges’ Award at the 37th annual National Print Awards.

Taylor’d Press owner Kirsten Taylor was also named the inaugural Exceptional Woman in Print winner during the awards ceremony which was livestreamed through the Print and Visual Communication Association’s Facebook page last Friday night.

Exceptional Women in Print award winner for 2020: Kirsten Taylor

Digitalpress, founded by PVCA honorary secretary Theo Pettaras 15 years ago, won Printer of the Year Digital and took out two gold, two silver and one bronze medal for the Spearwood campaign.

Tasmanian industry veteran, AIW founder and former PVCA board member Peter Clark won the Media Super Lifetime Achievement Award for his decades of contribution to the industry, which has included considerable efforts around sustainability in heatset printing.

Media Super CEO Tony Griffin presented Clark with his award in the livestream and reflected on Clark’s career including his start as a lithographic plate making and lithographic printing apprentice at Tasmania’s Cox Kay in Hobart.

Clark appeared via videolink through the presentation and said he was surprised and honoured to win the award.

Media Super Lifetime Achievement Award winner: Peter Clark

“I would like to thank Media Super and the PVCA for holding this event. I’ve had a long career in printing and started in 1963 and it has been a great industry to work in and is still a great industry,” Clark said.

“It has created a lot of opportunity for myself certainly thousands and thousands of other employees.”

Impact International won gold in the Print Sustainability award for its recyclable and printed plastic tubes, with IBS Design Resources taking silver and Eckersley Print Group winning the bronze.

Scott Mason, the Young Executive of the Year Award winner

The Media Super Young Executive of the Year went to Scott Mason of Payne Print & Sign in Queensland. Mason undertook a prepress apprenticeship and had upskilled to be a digital print operator. He was also a runner up for apprentice of the year in the 2016 LIA awards.

Updated 03/08/2020: Payne Print & Sign director Lyn Farrell who nominated Mason said he always had an eye for detail and was a valuable addition to the company’s sales team as he also had completed an apprenticeship in pre-press and graphic design in Melbourne before working for the business.

“Three years ago, we had the opportunity to purchase a local signage business to add to our diversity. Scott was instrumental in driving this decision for the value it would add to our business,” Farrell said.

“Scott understands what we need for the future of both print and signage and has no hesitation in speaking on our behalf in sourcing machinery and then reporting back to directors of his findings.

“He has shown us time and time again of his dedication to his work our in company and is much respected by our staff of thirty employees.”

Kirsten Taylor said she was immensely proud of the wins and the work Taylor’d Press produces for its valued clients. Four of the five golds were for the Up Banking mailer campaign with the fifth gold in the stationary category for a campaign for Fuel Design Agency.

“We have a huge sense of pride for the work that was produced,” Taylor told Sprinter.

“We put a lot of work and heart into everything we do here, so it is nice to be recognised nationally for that.”

Other gold medal winning printers include Detpak Cartons; Foot & Playstead, By Ninja, Who Printing; Ellikon Fine Printers; Spicers; Adams Print; Note Printing Australia; Peacock Bros; Styleprint; Pandoras Boxes and Openbook Howden. For the complete list of all medal winners please click here.

Business Awards:

Media Super Young Executive of the Year: Scott Mason, Payne Print

Creative Sustainability Award: Impact International (gold); IBS Design Resources (silver); Eckersley Print Group (bronze)

Media Super Lifetime Achievement: Peter Clark

Women in Print: Kirsten Taylor

Printer of the Year Offset: Taylor’d Press

Printer of the Year Digital: Digitalpress

For the complete list of 2020 National Print Awards gold, silver and bronze winners, please click here.


Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at [email protected]  

Sign up to the Sprinter newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.