PIAA changes Print Awards

The PIAA is changing the National Print Awards (NPA) and the state based PICAs, making the categories that is says properly reflect the industry, increase engagement with audience and introduce wider promotional communication.

The PIAA says it is also changing the procedure for entering the NPA, with entry now only for the winners of the PICAs, which are now open. The PICA awards will be given in October and November.

Andrew Macaulay, CEO at PIAA says, “The Printing awards are a tangible demonstration of the exceptional capability within the printing industry, and we have done a good job at celebrating our success. The timing is right to use our awards programme as an inspirational vehicle to promote the industry to a much wider audience.

“The impressive creativity and production of work in our industry deserves to be shared beyond printers and their suppliers, to key influencers in the choice of communication channel such as advertising and marketing agencies, clients, policy makers and training institutions.”

[Related: PIAA hosting AusPost breakfast talks]

Jen Baile, chief judge for the NPA says, “PICA celebrates the differences each state has to offer as local industry best understands what is important to their region. Each state has its own strengths and challenges, and this will be judged and showcased locally.

“Whilst preserving that state celebration, the change in procedure provides the opportunity for printers nationwide to be measured on a national stage. PICA medallists will be recognised as the best in their state, and then be judged independently against peers from other states. The National Print Awards will resume its position as being the best of the best, the pinnacle of design and print quality in Australia.”

As part of the revitalisation, there has been a review and alignment of categories from the PICA to the NPA.

Baile says, “The judges recognise things have changed and need to change. There is not an industry that is not touched by change and that change is what enables industry to thrive. The judges are excited about the modifications to the categories that will see a consolidation of some categories as a reflection of the convergence of technological processes, and an opening up of new categories that will appeal to a broader audience.

“The national judging panel includes independent experts who can constructively review work. If not exactly the same panel, we hope to include a representative from the national judging panel across all state judging panels to ensure some consistency across regions.”

Entries for the Victoria, New South Wales, Queensland and South Australia PICA are now open and Western Australia entries will open within the next few weeks.

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at [email protected]  

Sign up to the Sprinter newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.