Real Media Awards shine with printers celebrating their craft

Around 700 people from the symbiotic worlds of advertising, graphic design, retail, distribution and print came together in Melbourne for the 28th Real Media Awards, a stellar event which popped and sparkled from beginning to end.

The awards, formerly known as the Australasian Catalogue Awards, or in some circles ‘The Catalogies’ were held at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre on Friday night and did not disappoint.

Catalogues are still a major feature of recognition at these awards but the scope has broadened to include excellence in letterbox marketing, publishing, direct mail, point of sale and marketing efficacy across Australia and New Zealand.

Print’s heavy hitters IVE Group and Ovato plus major suppliers to the industry Ball & Doggett, Salmat, Norske Skog, Currie Group, Euro Poles, Shopfully and publishers Bauer Media Group made the event, organised by The Real Media Collective, a reality.

Comedian Des Dowling kept the crowd entertained at the 2019 Real Media Awards

Representatives from these organisations presented the awards while Euro Poles supplied the textile signage and photography backdrop in the foyer and finalists and winners received framed certificates courtesy of HP and Currie Group.

The Real Media Collective chief executive officer Kellie Northwood expressed her thanks and appreciation to all sponsors before commencing the formalities.

“Our sponsors are our supplier members and I cannot thank them enough. From the paper merchants and mills to the equipment suppliers and signage – your support with both financial investment and in-kind services allows our Awards to be celebrated in style and really showcase the industry. Our industry may not always be aware of your financial contributions and support as loyal members and sponsors – however I do think you deserve recognition. Suppliers supporting the Association is a support for the future of the industry and I cannot thank you enough,” Northwood said.

In total 703 entries were received for the awards which were voted on by a panel of 64 judges in Melbourne, Sydney and Auckland comprising printers, suppliers, retailers, brands and agency personnel.

“In the same way printers need our retail, brand and agency clients to achieve what we do, retailers, brands and agencies also need the expertise and talent of their print and mail-house partners to bring their campaigning to life,” Northwood said.

“Together we achieve great outcomes and impressive results – print is a powerful channel and the Awards celebrate this as well as the future of our industry.”

Ovato and IVE Group celebrated their success on the night in the direct mail, print, catalogue and publishing categories taking home 108 and 53 awards respectively.

All smiles: Phil Rennell, Currie Group; Lachlan Finch, Rawson Print; Kelvin Gage, TRMC and Jason Beckley, TT Innovations

Commercial printers also staked their claim to craftship with Gunn & Taylor, Digitalpress, Bambra Press, Complete Colour, Kosdown, Colourwise, Print Lounge, Taylor’d Press, Southern Colour, Colour Solutions, Rooster, Press Print, Cornerstone Press and Green & Gold printing all being recognized with awards of excellence.

Northwood also noted as she kicked off proceedings that this awards was the first to be held under the new Real Media Awards banner.

“The Real Media Collective is an example of the industry coming together, brands, agencies, retailers, printers, publishers and distributors celebrating the work they create in partnership to drive efficacy across the impressive and results-driven media channels we represent – namely print media channels,” Northwood said.

“The Real Media Awards are a testament to this success and a great reflection of our Collective philosophy.”

Ovato also celebrated a Major Award Finalist for Best Emerging Talent on the night.

Yousif Hurmiz Zia, a bindery tradesman at Warwick Farm, was recognised for his commitment to team leadership and passion to his role.

“I send a personal congratulations to Yousif, he joined the group with Hannanprint as an apprentice and has since grown to become a true star of our organisation,” Ovato chief executive officer Kevin Slaven and TRMC chairman said.

“I also congratulate The Real Media Collective Team for their work in achieving yet another successful Awards event, their commitment and passion to the event and the industry more broadly is one the Collective Board, and I’m sure membership, are grateful for.”

Northwood said the Real Media Awards is committed to an “all in” industry approach, adding when all parts are put together delivers impressive results and power to the print channel.

After the awards were handed out it was time to hit the dance floor if you could find room.

Major Real Media Awards Winners and Finalists:

Agency of the Year (Sponsored by Shopfully)

Party time: The Real Media Awards 2019

Winner Medium Rare Content Agency
Finalists BMF, Plump + Spry, AJF GrowthOps, Clemenger BBDO

Best Emerging Designer
Winners Sheridan Edsall of Target Creative Studio (Sponsored by Ovato Creative Services and Sierra Delta)

Finalists Sophie Hall of PFG Australia, Nikki Maras of Big W, Dana Al Habel of BMF, Maria Angelica Flores of GP Advertising

Best Emerging Talent (Sponsored by Ovato Limited)
Winner Brigitte Davies of BMF
Finalists Kevin Mui of BMF, Zane Hilder of BMF, and Jacqui Erskine of J Walter Thompson, Yousif Hurmiz Zia of Ovato Limited

Judge’s Choice (Sponsored by Ball & Doggett)
Winner ALDI Supermarkets – ‘Christmas: The More the Merrier ’18’ produced by BMF
Finalists Repco – ‘It Starts With The Parts’ produced by Cummins & Partner, Bauer Media Group – ‘No GST – No Gender Selective Tax’ produced by Bauer Media Group, Vintage Cellars – ‘Cellar Press – The Rules of Attraction’ produced by Gourmet Traveller, David Jones – ‘JONES’ produced by Medium Rare Content

Brand of the Year (Sponsored by Ovato Limited)

Winner Vintage Cellars – Gourmet Traveller WINE

Finalists David Jones – Medium Rare Content Agency, Myer – Clemenger BBDO, Beacon Lighting – Beacon Lighting In-House Team, Nutrimetics – Nutrimetics In-House Team

Retailer of the Year (Sponsored by Norske Skog)
Winner Coles – Big Red, Medium Rare Content Agency, Keep Left and NBHD Creative
Finalists ALDI – BMF, Dan Murphy’s – Hardie Grant Media, Big W – Big W In-House Team, Woolworths – M&C Saatchi, Suddenly (News Corp Australia Content Agency) and Wellcom Worldwide

Media Brand of the Year (Sponsored by IVE Group)
Winner Dan Murphy’s – Hardie Grant Media
Finalists Coles – Big Red, Medium Rare Content Agency, Keep Left and NBHD Creative, Vintage Cellars – Gourmet Traveller WINE, David Jones – Medium Rare Content Agency, Strathcona Baptist Girls Grammar – Stella Dean Creative

Additional Categories and Sponsors:
HOME Category sponsored by Ovato Limited
FASHION Category sponsored by Ovato Limited
COSMETICS & PHARMACY sponsored by IVE Group
B2C sponsored by Salmat
RETAILERS sponsored by Salmat
DIRECT MAIL sponsored by Australia Post
MEDIA BRANDS sponsored by Bauer Media Group
EFFECTIVENESS sponsored by Ovato Limited
EXCELLENCE IN CRAFT sponsored by HP/Currie Group (print) and Ball & Doggett (paper)

Comment below to have your say on this story.

If you have a news story or tip-off, get in touch at  

Sign up to the Sprinter newsletter

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.